Wildcat Press Xpress

NFL Honors

Will R.

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Getty Images
SEATTLE, WA – OCTOBER 2: Quarterback Matt Ryan #2 of the Atlanta Falcons drops back to pass during play against the Seattle Seahawks at CenturyLink Field on October 2, 2011 in Seattle, Washington. The Falcons won the game 30-28. (Photo by Stephen Brashear /Getty Images)

Many people feel like the last few weeks have been surprising in the NFL. From the Minnesota Miracle to the Patriots having a chance for their sixth Super Bowl title since 2002.

The NFL Honors will be awarded Saturday, February 3, and this is the sixth year of the event. The main awards are MVP, Walter Payton Award, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, and Most Improved Player of the Year.

This year the final three candidates for MVP each deserve recognition. Many say Patriots QB Tom Brady is the G.O.A.T. (Greatest of All Time). Rams RB Todd Gurley had over 2000 scrimmage yards. Eagles QB Carson Wentz led his team to 11-2 before tearing his ACL.

Alex W. a seventh grade boy, thinks Gurley deserves to win because of his dominant rushing and receiving attack. In the middle school, 36 percent of the people think Brady will win it.

The Walter Payton Award is for the athlete who does the most in his community. This year’s finalists include Texans Defensive End J.J. Watt who helped raise money for Hurricane Harvey Relief, Panthers Tight End Greg Olsen who helped with the veterans in his community, and Ravens Tight End Benjamin Watson who helped the black people in his community. Watt is the favorite according to middle school students.

The past three Rookie of the Year winners have continued with much success in the league. Cowboys QB Dak Prescott led his team to a great season, but fell short of the Super Bowl and led his team to a winning record a year later without his RB. Rams RB Todd Gurley (who is now in the MVP race) ran for over 1000 yards in each of his three seasons since winning, and Giants WR Odell Beckham had three straight seasons with over 1000 receiving yards.

This year’s rookie nominees are Saints RB Alvin Kamara, Chiefs RB Kareem Hunt, Jaguars RB Leonard Fournette, Saints CB Marshon Lattimore, Steelers LB T.J. Watt, and Bills CB Tre’Davious White. Some think Kamara will win (27 percent), while Fournette is a close second with 22 percent.

Some say the coach is the most important part of any franchise. The nominees for Coach of the Year are Rams coach Sean McVay who led his team to a three seed in the playoffs, Vikings coach Mike Zimmer who helped his team reach the NFC Championship, and Eagles coach Doug Peterson who has his team in the Super Bowl. Just under 30 percent of the students say Peterson will win it.

The Most Improved Player of the Year is someone who struggled the previous season, but bounced back. Rams QB Jared Goff, Vikings QB Case Keenum, and Eagles QB Carson Wentz are the finalists. Alex W. predicts that Wentz will win it, while 41 percent of the students say Goff will win.

The NFL Honors are at 7 p.m. on Saturday, February 3, and will be televised on ESPN.




Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.

The news site of The Westminster Schools
NFL Honors